THE CASTRUM OF VERNAZZA was probably built by the Obertenghi Family in the 11th century, on the rocky buttress at the far end of the headlanf; It used to include the ecclesia or archaic chapel dedicated to S. Giovanni Battista that was probably built together with the castle. The chapel collapsed in the 1950s, and only a small part of its external walls can still be seen today.
It is difficult to visualize the first castrum of Vernazza due to the following works that incorporated the original structure.
Quite likely, after conquering and destroying the castle in 1182, the Genoese built a new Castle over the remains of the old one.
The village of Vernazza used to have a strong defensive structure, represented by the Castle, which could not be attacked from the sea, by “Bèforte” and by a system of walls and towers.
The village was thus defended both land and sea attacks.
The castle was abandoned for many years. Then, in the second world war , it was occupied first by italian army and, from september 1943 to 25th aprile 1945, by the german troops, which carried out many works, thus further changing it original structure.The remains of the central tower were demolished, bunkers and a new access scale were built.
Visitors can currently reach the open area at the top of the tower, which offers a magnificent view of the surrounding landscape.
The Doria’s Castle management Is carried out by a public green cross-service association of Vernazza.
Entrance to the castle is subject to the purchase of a ticket of 1.50 euros. Cash is not for profit and is entirely used to provide the medical service for residents and also for turists H24.